I bring you KDE-Telepathy contacts!

Hello all!
Cool thing happened today, I finished the Contact plasmoid for KDE-Telepathy! Yaaaaay!
This plasmoid is a simple 128×128 plasmoid that sits on your desktop and let’s you keep your favorite contact (or contacts if you have many friends) always at hand.
The contact presence status is displayed by a coloured frame on the outside. If you click on the plasmoid you’ll get a drop down menu with the possible/available actions you can use with that contact according
to your kde-telepathy capabilities and the ones of the selected contact.
I started off using the ktelepathy library nepomuk model for this plasmoid but ran into some problems halfway through so I had to fallback to the telepathy model (model we use in our contactlist component).
But no worries, we kde-telepathy devs have a sprint coming soon (September) where we will discuss problems and the future of the project and solve annoying issues.
I really believe in the integration of KDE apps data into nepomuk so don’t worry, we’ll get there.
Until my plasmoid goes public you can take a look at this nice video I hope you all will appreciate.

Enjoy!

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “I bring you KDE-Telepathy contacts!

  1. Lemuria says:

    Amazing !!! I really love this project !! I’m actually using kde-telepathy on Archlinux and i have to say, simply amazing. It is stable and does its work very good.

    I appreciate you effort. 😉

    Greetings from Costa Rica !! 😀

  2. Congratulations. You’re the best GSOC student I’ve ever had.

  3. P says:

    what about me David, I thought I was the best

  4. Enrico Badalamento says:

    Excellent work !

  5. This will make my workflow a lot easier 😀

    This way I could have my most useful contacts spread around the Activity in which I use them the most (e.g. FSFE people in one, best buddies in another, sysadmins in third).

    Another idea would be to automatically show/filter groups of contacts (in a plasmoid) and change the availability according to the Activit(y|ies) that (is|are) enabled.

    BTW, I have most of my panels (especially the system notification) hidden, so I often fail to notice “new message” icon animations in it. If it will be possible in the near future to have a visual notification on these contact plasmoids when you receive a new message from them (or even when they’re writing something), they want to start a VoIP or video chat with you?

    Great stuff …I can’t barely wait to see what KDE Telepathy Sprint will do. Looking forward to using this as my primary IM/VoIP client in the future :]

Leave a Reply

